Level 1 License (Initial License) (UT)

You need to login or register to save this route.

View Teacher Programs (
7
)

Level 1 License (Initial License) (UT)

Description
A Level 1 license is a Utah professional educator license issued upon completion of an approved preparation program, an alternative preparation program, or pursuant to an agreement under the NASDTEC Interstate Contract, to candidates who have also met all ancillary requirements established by law or rule.
License Valid for 3 years
Employment: Not Required

Reciprocity
The following states may accept this route:
ALL NASDTEC with the exception of AK, IA, MN, MO, SD, WI, WY

State Information
State: Utah
Contact Phone: 801-538-7740
For more information please visit the state website: http://www.schools.utah.gov/cert/default.aspx

Minimum Academic Background
In most states, teachers must have a minimum academic background for certification.
The following is required for this route:
BA Degree + Completed State Approved Teacher Education Program

Notes
Teacher program must be CAEP or NCATE approved.

Basic skills tests are NOT required by the state of Utah, HOWEVER teacher programs may require applicant to verify basic competency in English and Math. This varies by university or alternative route licensing agency.

Teacher Preparation
In most states, teachers are required to complete training in education methods through a teacher program.
The following is required for this route:
State Approved Teacher Education Program

Content Language and English Language Proficiency
In most states, teachers are required to submit evidence of content language proficiency and English language proficiency through coursework, exams, or degree evaluations.
The following is required for this route:

Content Language Proficiency:

Exam(s): Exams are language specific.

Course needed: Methods of Teaching World Language or Equivalent
Accept Scores from Out of State

English Language Proficiency: Oral,

Notes:
State may review transcripts to determine content language proficiency.

Passing score for ACTFL OPI or the UFLA Oral Proficiency Test at the Advanced-Low level.

Utah Foreign Language Assessment (UFLA) can be used instead of ACTFL. UFLA is only valid in Utah.

Applicants may take the ACTFL or the UFLA AND the Praxis II if applying for Spanish, French, German, Latin, or Chinese.

Scores cannot be older than 5 years.

For: Portuguese, Russian, Hindi, Korean, Farsi, Turkish, Tongan, Samoan, Japanese, Arabic, or
other, Please contact:
Gregg Roberts, gregg.roberts@schools.utah.gov

For: Navajo or Ute,
Please contact: Harold (Chuck) Foster, harold.foster@schools.utah.gov

If English is not the primary language spoken in your country of origin, Utah will need verification of English proficiency. You may schedule an Oral Proficiency Interview with Language Testing International (LTI). Utah currently only accepts the Certified ACTFL Oral Proficiency Interview (OPI). An applicant must attain a level of Advanced Low to pass the English Language Proficiency benchmark.

OPI passing scores cannot be more than five years old.

Visit http://www.languagetesting.com/find-a-test to schedule an appointment test.

Applying to the State
In most states, teachers must apply to the state Individually or through their local School District, or Teacher Program Institution. Requirements for the application are outlined below:

Application Submission: Individual
Online at: https://secure.utah.gov/elr/welcome.html

Copy of Academic Transcripts: Required

Copy of International Records: Required
Transcript Evaluation Required
URL: http://langcred.org/resources/transcript-evaluation/?fwp_agency_accepted_by_states=utah

Background Check
Required
Online at: https://secure.utah.gov/elr/welcome.html

Renewal: Renewable
License renewal information found at http://www.schools.utah.gov/cert/License-Renewals/Renewal-Information/Educators-Renewing.aspx

The renewal site is only open from January through June.

A Level 1 license may be renewed if the individual has less than 3 years of experience in a Utah public or accredited private school and has earned 100 points within this cycle or the most recent 3 years if the cycle has expired. The rules and detailed steps for Utah Educator License Renewal can be found at http://schools.utah.gov/cert/License-Renewals/Categories-Acceptable-Activities.aspx

Teachers must have 2 hours of professional development on suicide prevention.

Educators holding a Level 1 license and that have 3 years of experience in a Utah public or accredited private school are required to complete the Entry Years Enhancement (EYE) program and upgrade to a Level 2 license.

Notes:
Timeline is for applicants who have completed an in-state University teacher program or a state-approved teacher program and have fulfilled all requirements including a completed background check.

Fee for out-of-country application is $75
Follow steps of online background check. Applicants will be prompted to order fingerprint cards or complete a Livescan in person. There is a $40.00 processing fee for fingerprints.

You may download and print this route.

Published On: 3/31/2017 4:40:30 PM


Posted in .