Out-Of-State Certificate (LA)

You need to login or register to save this route.

View Teacher Programs (
zero
)

Out-Of-State Certificate (LA)

Description
Out-of-State Certificate is a standard, three-year, non-renewable Louisiana teaching certificate that authorizes certification for subjects available in Louisiana and that are consistent with those currently on the applicant’s Out-of-State teaching certificate. An Out-of-State certificate is issued to individuals who have not met Louisiana’s PRAXIS and/or NTE requirements.
Certificate Valid for 3 years
Employment: Not Required

Reciprocity
The following states may accept this route:
Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

State Information
State: Louisiana
Contact Phone: 877-453-2721
For more information please visit the state website: https://www.teachlouisiana.net/prospect.aspx?PageID=3202

Minimum Academic Background
In most states, teachers must have a minimum academic background for certification.
The following is required for this route:
BA Degree + Completed State Approved Teacher Education Program

Prior Certification: Must Hold Current (STATE) Certification

Basic Skills
In most states, teachers must verify basic skills in English (Reading and Writing) and Mathematics through coursework, exams, or degree evaluations.
The following is required for this route:

Math:
Exam(s): One exam is required.

Teacher Preparation
In most states, teachers are required to complete training in education methods through a teacher program.
The following is required for this route:
State Approved Teacher Education Program
Exam(s):

Work Experience
In some states, teachers are required to provide evidence of work experience.
The following is required for this route:
3 years or completed student teaching or internship in a certification area years.

Content Language and English Language Proficiency
In most states, teachers are required to submit evidence of content language proficiency and English language proficiency through coursework, exams, or degree evaluations.
The following is required for this route:

Content Language Proficiency:

Exam(s):

Accept Scores from Out of State

Notes:
No exam required for Latin. Must have completed 31 semester hours of coursework.

An applicant who holds a valid, standard Out-of-State teaching certificate, has at least three years of successful teaching experience in another state, and teaches on an OS certificate for one (1) year in a Louisiana approved public or approved nonpublic school system shall not have to complete the required examinations or to submit examination scores from any examination previously taken in another state as prerequisite to the granting of a Level 1 certificate in Louisiana, provided that:
a) The teacher meets all other requirements for a Louisiana certificate as required by law or board policy.
b) The local superintendent or his designee of the public school system employing the teacher has recommended the teacher for employment for the following school year and has requested that the teacher be granted a valid Louisiana teaching certificate.

Upon meeting conditions (a) and (b), the individual holding the Out-of-State certificate may apply through his/her school district for a professional level certificate.

Applying to the State
In most states, teachers must apply to the state Individually or through their local School District, or Teacher Program Institution. Requirements for the application are outlined below:

Application Submission: Individual
Form at: https://www.teachlouisiana.net/pdf/applications/Out_of_State.pdf
Form Mailing Address:
Division of Certification, Preparation, and Recruitment
LA Department of Education
P. O. Box 94064
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064

Copy of Academic Transcripts: Required

Background Check
Required
Varies by District

Renewal: Nonrenewable
Those issued a non-renewable out-of-state certificate must meet testing requirements before applying for the Level 1 certificate.

Only candidates who were issued a Level 1 Certificate after credential review may renew their certificates.

Teachers with a Level 1 Professional Certificate must pass the Louisiana Teacher Assistance and Assessment Program (LATAAP) and teach for three years in their area of certification in an approved educational setting to receive a Level 2 Professional Certificate.

Notes:

Those issued a non-renewable out-of-state certificate must meet testing requirements before applying for the Level 1 certificate.

Only candidates who were issued a Level 1 Certificate after credential review may renew their certificates.

Teachers with a Level 1 Professional Certificate must pass the Louisiana Teacher Assistance and Assessment Program (LATAAP) and teach for three years in their area of certification in an approved educational setting to receive a Level 2 Professional Certificate.

GENERAL NOTES FOR THIS ROUTE
Louisiana offers two types of teaching certificates to applicants holding a standard out-of-state teaching certificate:

1. Level 1 Professional Certificate is a standard, three-year Louisiana teaching certificate issued to individuals who have completed the Louisiana PRAXIS and/or NTE requirements.

2. Out-of-State Certificate is a standard, three-year, non-renewable Louisiana teaching certificate issued to individuals who have NOT met Louisiana’s PRAXIS and/or NTE requirements.

You may download and print this route.

Published On: 3/31/2017 4:39:54 PM


Posted in .