Traditional Certification Route (MI)

You need to login or register to save this route.


The traditional certification system in Michigan follows a three-tier succession: Standard Teaching Certificate, Professional Teaching Certificate, Advanced Teaching Certificate. Successful completion of the university teacher training BA course of study qualifies the student for a recommendation for the Michigan Department of Education Standard Certificate. After three years of teaching experience, continuing education and/or having obtained a MA or MEd degree, those holding a Standard Education Certificate may upgrade to a Professional Education Certificate. Highly effective and qualified teachers may then move up to the third tier of certification, the Advanced Professional Education certificate.

Language: Arabic|Chinese-Mandarin|French|German|Greek|Hebrew|Italian|Japanese|Latin|Native American|Spanish|Other

State Information
State: Michigan
Contact Name: Certification Unit
Contact Phone: 517-335-0505
Contact Email: [email protected]
For more information please visit the state website:

Last updated on: October 20, 2020
Posted in .