You need to login or register to save this state.


The state of Kansas has a three-tier system for teacher licensure: Initial (or Transitional), Professional, and Accomplished. Initial license is issued to educators new to the teaching profession. Initial license may be renewed within 5 years of the issuance of the first Initial license. Professional Teaching License is the standard license in Kansas, and must be renewed every 5 years. Professional license requires five or more years of accredited experience, three of which are consecutive in the same district. The Professional Teaching License in Kansas may be renewed by meeting educational, professional development and/or accredited experience requirements, which vary depending on the highest level of education received (bachelor’s or master’s degree). Accomplished Teacher License is granted to holders of a currently valid Kansas Professional teaching license when they achieve a National Board Certification from the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) through completion of their advanced level performance assessment process. For an infographic on routes to certification in Kansas, please, see this document.

For additional information about certification, please, consult the Kansas State Department of Education.


Web site: https://www.ksde.org/

Contact name: Kansas State Department of Education’s Office of Teacher Licensure and Accreditation (TLA)

Contact phone number: 785-296-2288

Contact email: [email protected]

Languages: ASL|American Indian|Arabic|Chinese|Classic Greek|Filipino|French|German|Hebrew|Italian|Japanese|Korean|Latin|Modern Greek|Portuguese|Russian|Spanish|Swahili|Vietnamese|Other



This is a list that the state maintains of approved credentialing programs. Use this list to search for credentialling programs that fit your needs. There are two lists: one list displays all approved language credentialing programs and the other list displays all credentialing programs (including those that are not specifically for world language teaching). The state may periodically change this list. Credential-seeking individuals must attend a program from this approved list to receive credentials in the state of Kansas. https://www.ksde.org/Agency/Division-of-Learning-Services/Teacher-Licensure-and-Accreditation/Postsecondary/Educator-Preparation/Approved-Educator-Preparation-Programs

Posted in .