You need to login or register to save this state.


In the state of Iowa has a 3-tiered teacher certification system. A graduate of a regionally approved teacher preparation program is eligible for an Initial license (Tier 1). The Initial Teaching License can be converted to the standard license once the experience requirements are met (Tier 2). In most cases the holder of a Standard Teaching License will convert to the Master Educator License (Tier 3) at the next renewal after earning a Master’s degree with 5 years of teaching experience, and can be renewed with 4 renewal credits (or 2 renewal credits if the applicant holds a doctor’s or specialist’s degree). For renewals, Iowa accepts licensure renewal credits from an approved Iowa provider, or undergraduate or graduate college credits from a regionally accredited institution. 

For additional information about certification, please, consult the Iowa Board of Educational Examiners.   


Web site: 

Contact name: Iowa Board of Educational Examiners  

Contact phone number: (515) 281-3605 

Contact email: [email protected] 

Languages: ASL|Chinese|French |German|Japanese|Latin|Russian|Spanish|Norwegian|Italian|Portuguese|Other 


This is a list that the state maintains of approved credentialing programs. Use this list to search for credentialling programs that fit your needs. This list displays all credentialing programs (including those that are not specifically for world language teaching). The state may periodically change this list. Credential-seeking individuals must attend a program from this approved list to receive credentials in the state of Iowa.

Posted in .