South Dakota

You need to login or register to save this state.


The state of South Dakota has a 2-tiered teacher certification system. Teachers new to the teaching profession initially receive a 5-year Professional Teaching Certificate. Upon meeting the requirement for the certification renewal, professional certification can be extended or upgraded to the Advanced Teacher Certification if the applicant has an advanced degree in an education-related filed or has received national Board for Teaching Standards Certification (NBTC).

For additional information about certification, please, consult the South Dakota Department of Education.


Web site:

Contact name: South Dakota Department of Education

Contact phone number: (605) 773-3134

Contact email: [email protected]

Languages: ASL| French|German|Japanese|Chinese|Latin|Native American|Norwegian|Russian|Spanish|Other



This is a list that the state maintains of approved credentialing programs. Use this list to search for credentialing programs that fit your needs. This list displays all credentialing programs (including those that are not specifically for world language teaching). You can click each program to see more details on the teaching fields that each program covers. The state may periodically change this list. Credential-seeking individuals must attend a program from this approved list to receive credentials in the state of South Dakota.

Posted in .