Maryland Approved Program (MAP): Traditional Certification Route (MD)

You need to login or register to save this route.


A college graduate with a bachelor’s degree in teaching is typically issued a Professional Eligibility Certificate (PEC), which is converted to Standard Professional Certificate I (SPC I) once employment at a Maryland school is secured. Standard Professional Certificate II (SPC II) is Issued to an applicant who is employed by a Maryland local school system or publicly funded nonpublic school, has 3 years of satisfactory school related experience, 6 semester hours of acceptable professional development credit, and has formulated a professional development plan for the Advanced Professional Certificate (APC). APC is awarded to teachers with an earned master’s degree and upon meeting the requirements of the individualized APC professional development plan. Note, that advancement from SPC II to APC is not optional: all Maryland teachers are required to hold a master’s degree (or higher) within 10 years of the issuance of the initial SPC 1 teaching license.

Language: Arabic|Chinese-Mandarin|French|German|Italian|Japanese|Latin|Portuguese|Russian|Spanish|Turkish|Korean

State Information
State: Maryland
Contact Name: Division of Educator Certification and Program Approval
Contact Phone: 410-767-0100
Contact Email: [email protected]
For more information please visit the state website:

Last updated on: November 13, 2020
Posted in .